MoparFins

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We changed servers, which is good, and lost all passwords, which is bad. See above.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trans ID  (Read 1380 times)

Alexzander Vulmea Dare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« on: April 15, 2012, 04:05:54 AM »

I have a leak coming from the front of the tranny and need to drop it to put a new seal in. No problem. ? The real problem is trying to get the correct seal! I know mine is a 3 speed auto, but which one? I've not seen a ID # as of yet. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Logged
Life is tightning one loose bolt at a time. All my bolts are loose and I can't find a wrench that fit's!

Guests

  • Guest
Trans ID
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 07:07:13 AM »

Which engine and transmission? There are only a couple.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Posts: 8653
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 02:59:58 PM »



If you have a pre 61 V8, it's a 727 Cast Iron.  The only difference between the small and big blocks was the bell housing
Logged
Favorite Expression. . . Damned Kids.  Lots of projects.  Donations accepted

Alexzander Vulmea Dare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2012, 06:45:50 AM »

Shop manual shows 3 types for my 60 pioneer in autos. Powerflight-a torqueflite6 and a torqueflight. Mine has a 318 and 3 speed auto. I am assuming that mine is a torqueflight but which one? Are there any #s that are on the casing to go by?
Logged
Life is tightning one loose bolt at a time. All my bolts are loose and I can't find a wrench that fit's!

Guests

  • Guest
Trans ID
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2012, 06:48:52 AM »

If it is a three speed, that's the one you have, three speed, cast iron, 727 cable shift automatic. Since you still have to pull the transmission to change the seal, yank it, pull the seal out, match it up and replace it that way. All you have to do is match up the outise diameter in the front pump ( to measure) and the outside diameter of the torque converter.
Logged

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Posts: 8653
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2012, 03:32:31 PM »



FYI, you can push start that car of you wanted too.  That car can be flat towed long distances too because it has a rear pump which is turned by the main shaft.  Actually, it has 2 pumps.  The front one was the shift control pump.  Acted like a govorner
Logged
Favorite Expression. . . Damned Kids.  Lots of projects.  Donations accepted

Alexzander Vulmea Dare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2012, 11:30:17 AM »

Thanks guys for all the help. Who says an OLD DOG can't learn new tricks. I can prove my girlfriend wrong...
Logged
Life is tightning one loose bolt at a time. All my bolts are loose and I can't find a wrench that fit's!

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Posts: 8653
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2012, 11:35:59 AM »



Behind every successful man stands a woman telling him he's wrong.
Logged
Favorite Expression. . . Damned Kids.  Lots of projects.  Donations accepted

Alexzander Vulmea Dare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Trans ID
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2012, 03:11:13 AM »

I think they are all crazy ...just different degree's of insanity...
Logged
Life is tightning one loose bolt at a time. All my bolts are loose and I can't find a wrench that fit's!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

© 2008-2014 Steve Hobby • © 2015 Allpar, LLC