MoparFins

Techical Discussions => Tech- - DRIVE TRAIN => Topic started by: attkrlufy on August 27, 2008, 11:48:15 AM

Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: attkrlufy on August 27, 2008, 11:48:15 AM
I know Polaraco mentioned doing this in the past with a modern 5.2 - but what about an old LA engine?

Will the A500 (40RH/42RH) transmission bell match up with a 1979 vintage 360 V8?  I know he said it'll fit in the tunnel but new mounts will need to be made.  I assume we're talking about a custom driveshaft, as well.

I'm assuming the hydraulic versions of the A500 will be easier to work with in matching to my car (I doubt adding the 40RE/42RE will be anything other than difficult)....what's the feasibility of something like this?  The more I think about it, the more I REALLY want that 4th gear and I'm not ready to let go of my 360.

That and my tranny is slowly decaying with age.  (http://www.moparfins.com/forum/smileys/smiley11.gif)  Its demise is only a matter of time.


Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Steve on August 27, 2008, 11:57:08 AM
I believe it will.  The 3.9 V6 used the 500 and the 5.2 and 5.9 used the 518.  Bith are good transmissions with the apporpriate cooling
Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Ken on August 27, 2008, 01:08:44 PM
What Steve sez x 2.

The 40/42RH is basically a 904 with OD in the tail housing, and it has the small block bell housing, which was used from the late 1950's with the 318 A poly engine right up to the last 5.2L Magnum V8 in the 1990's.  The 360 shares the same bell housing.

Find an A518 if you can, as that's the 727-derived version.


Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: attkrlufy on September 01, 2008, 12:54:53 PM

Quote from: Moesy
Find an A518 if you can, as that's the 727-derived version.
Isn't the A518 an electrically controlled unit?  The thing I like about the A500 is it's totally hydraulic - so no fiddling with wires and computers.  I'd rather not have to touch the main wiring harness if I don't have to.  (http://www.moparfins.com/forum/smileys/smiley18.gif)

Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Stitcherbob on September 01, 2008, 01:16:30 PM
Both the 500 and 518 need a wire and switch to turn on the 4th gear....the later trans' like the ones you mentioned have shift points determined by computer and are not suitable for our cars....yet

Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Steve on September 01, 2008, 01:27:46 PM
Not true Bob
 
The late 80's Dodge vans had a box that plugged in and read the engine speed.  Or there is a kit you can get that uses the preasure test ports and electrically poops the trans for you.  The lock up will still require a ground at the brake light switch, or it can be done with a realy.
Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Stitcherbob on September 01, 2008, 01:28:54 PM
Here is more info:
http://www.moparaction.com/Tech/questions/OVERDRIVE.html (http://www.moparaction.com/Tech/questions/OVERDRIVE.html)

http://www.moparaction.com/Tech/quest1/DRIVE_OVERDRIVE.html (http://www.moparaction.com/Tech/quest1/DRIVE_OVERDRIVE.html)

http://www.moparaction.com/Tech/quest1/FURY_518_FANTASY.html (http://www.moparaction.com/Tech/quest1/FURY_518_FANTASY.html)






Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: attkrlufy on September 03, 2008, 03:59:22 AM
Wait, what?  Maybe I don't understand transmissions as much as I thought.....

Okay - back to basics.  The a500/a518/a618 is a 4 speed unit, right?  Because some people are saying they're a three speed w/ overdrive and some are saying they're a four speed w/ overdrive.  How many forward gears do they have?

I've read two articles that talk about the need for adding a switch to "turn on the overdrive" (thanks stitcherbob) but I don't understand why.  Wouldn't the overdrive come on automatically as part of the functioning of the top gear (3rd or 4th)?  Hemmings had an article about an A518 swap that (I think) addressed what Polaraco mentioned - there's a way to get the overdrive to engage and disengage without having to do it manually.

Sorry if this is basic stuff - I guess its back to school for me on this one.  (http://www.moparfins.com/forum/smileys/smiley18.gif)


Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Steve on September 03, 2008, 05:02:35 AM
The 518 and 500 are 3 speeds with O/D.  They have a lock up converter.  Some people confuse the O/D as a 4th speed and consider the Lock O/D

I did allot of homework before I installed the 518 on the Polaraco.  I have even rebuilt my own 518 so I know what they look like.  So I don't have Internet experience with these.


 
The converter is locked by an electric solenoid.  The Overdrive is engaged the same way.  In most cases it is run by an ECM. That is the switch Bob was talking about.  That is a cheap way and will agrivate the heck out of you in time.  I did that as a temp on Polaraco because I was missing a circuit for the ECM and wired it manually until I fixed that circuit.   However, I said there are two ways you can make the trans completely automatic.  1.  The late 80's vans had a box that controlled the transmission.  That was just before the vans got EFI.  I believe it's 87 and 88.  2.  They make a kit which uses the pressure test ports and solonoids to shift the trans and lock the converter.
 
I have almost 18,000 on Polaraco now.  The trans has been flawless except for needing a new converter.



Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Ken on September 03, 2008, 05:58:12 PM

Here is a company that offers the switches to make a 518 trans go into O/D and also engage the lock-up for the converter, http://www.transmissioncenter.net/dodge.htm (http://www.transmissioncenter.net/dodge.htm)

Here's the specific items, listed under PATC
        727 to 518 Conversion Kit
(http://www.redrider.us/HPIM1291.JPG)



Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Leaburn Patey on September 03, 2008, 06:59:11 PM
Read this;
http://www.dippy.org/forum2/index.php/topic,231.0.html (http://www.dippy.org/forum2/index.php/topic,231.0.html)
Hope this helps.
My friend has an OD in his 85 Plymouth Caravelle (Canadian ex-cop car)
The sneaky thing he did was wire the  "window lock" button in the driver's door panel to activate the OD.Of course the window lock feature was done away with.
CBarge2008-09-04 00:00:12
Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: attkrlufy on September 03, 2008, 07:52:23 PM

Just so you know - a guy over at Allpar posted about this very same thing in the B/C/D/R forum.  Apparently A518s in older Mopars is going to be the wave of the future.

I, uh, quoted you, Polaraco, and Stitcherbob in my reply.    (http://www.moparfins.com/forum/smileys/smiley2.gif)  We'll see if those guys over there have any luck with the swap, as well.
 attkrlufy2008-09-04 00:53:18
Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Steve on September 04, 2008, 04:51:11 AM
what did you quote?
 
That I did it, or about how it's done???
Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: attkrlufy on September 04, 2008, 08:52:05 AM

Quote from: POLARACO
what did you quote?

 That I did it, or about how it's done???
I guess a bit of both.  I didn't really add anything myself since I know almost nothing about the swap procedure.  I pretty much cut-and-pasted from the few posts here (and gave credit where credit is due, of course).

The Allpar thread is here if you want to see for yourself:

http://www.allpar.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=107711


Title: A500 bolt on to old engine?
Post by: Steve on September 04, 2008, 09:12:45 AM
Oh that's OK.  I don't know why I even asked you.  Must have been a grumpy mood. . .LOL
 
I can't view the link.  Not a member.
 
With all the work I did on Polaraco, I was originally going to EFI the factory 360 and put a 518 behind it.  Then I came up eith the bright idea to put a Magnum ahead of it.  So I had done all the homework already.  Night after night I spent looking at different options.  Going to the magnum was a good idea.  The 5.2 had more HP and torque then a 2 BBL 360.  And a more efficient fuel system.