MoparFins

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

We changed servers, which is good, and lost all passwords, which is bad. See above.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sound Break Up IN stereo  (Read 731 times)

Gary Buckley

• View Profile
Sound Break Up IN stereo
« on: July 28, 2011, 04:19:27 PM »

Hi everyone . I am new to this great site and this is my first attempt at trouble shooting . My problem is with my 1941 Chrysler Royal with a 6 volt positive ground system.I installed a cd player in the car ,independent of all electrical.I mounted it in a wooden box and ran all wires to a 12 volt battery in the trunk.When the engine is off it works excellent ,but when I start the car the sound in the speakers cuts in and out badly.I am not picking up engine static either.Doesnt matter if I use the radio or cd player.  The antenae is not touching the body either.I use an MP3 player in the car and have no issues.

Steve

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Sound Break Up IN stereo
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 05:40:22 PM »

I might suggest you get a small inverter from 6V to 12V.  They make them for 6V + Grounds.  I am sure I have a new one two for my 51.  I don't have the guy I bought them from with me, I am away.  But I may have something in the files I have.
Favorite Expression. . . Damned Kids.  Lots of projects.  Donations accepted

Guests

Sound Break Up IN stereo
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2011, 05:41:28 PM »

I may be way out to lunch on this, but the MP3 may work because there aren't any moving parts and runs directly through the head of the player, wheras the tuner radio can get interference (may be the speakers themselves that need to be isolated from the body), and the CD player is laser digital and moves, which may pick up interference. Are the speakers attached to the body, or are they in wooken boxes, also? That's the only thing I can think of.

Gary Buckley

• View Profile